The Institute is very much aware that the Library is the soul of any academic institution and the backbone of any civilized society. It is a central place for academic and research activities. Thus, the library at SMSMPITR acquires the prominent responsibility. Being a backbone of the institute, it acquires a large number of books having national and international standard. The library has reading room section of 100 student capacity. It has subscription of national and international journals and has compiled information from international journals.

The library facility is provided to the students and staff members for updating their knowledge and supporting the teaching, learning and research activities. It is provided through the central library and departmental libraries keeping in view the fast changes in technology.

Library Resources

The library contains Text Books, Reference Books, ISI code Books, Journals, Periodicals, E Journals, E books, Thesis reports and CDs. The library has also subscribed to institutional membership of IAHR, DELNET, BCL and ARAI. Total 60,120 volumes and 10,100 titles of books are available for various programs of engineering.

Library Rules
  1. All library users must sign in the library register.
  2. User should maintain peace in the library and should not disturb other readers in the library. Use of mobile phone is strictly prohibited in the library premises.
  3. While entering the library, user should leave his/her personal belongings such as bags, personal books etc. at the counter reserved for this purpose.
  4. The Librarian may suspend library service of a student member for one month, if he/she misbehaves with the library staff.
  5. User of the library should not deface, mark, cut or damage the reading materials in any way. Persons doing so are liable to be fined heavily, apart from being asked to pay the cost of the damage.
  1. Books may be borrowed only against the library card issued to an individual.
  2. Two library books will be issued to each  student.
  3. Five library books will be issued to each Full time Research scholars/Faculty members.
  4. For students, books can be issued for a limited period 15 days, failing which an overdue charge Rs. 1 per book per day must be paid.
  5. For Full time Research scholars/Faculty members, books can be issued for a period of one semester, failing which an overdue charge Rs. 2 per book per day must be paid.
  6. No books in damaged condition will be accepted from the users on return. Damaged books will have to be replaced by the borrower.
Library Timing: For Reading Room
1Monday to Saturday8.00 am to 12.00 pm
2Sunday and Holidays10.00 am to 8.00 pm.
For Book issue-return, Digital Library, and Computer Centre:
1Monday to Saturday10.00 am to 6.00 pm
2Saturday9.00 am to 4.00 pm

Library has 2500 square meters of pleasant environment comprising Stacking Room, Computer Centre, Periodical Section, Language Lab, Audio Visual Room, Digital Library, Reference Section, Reading Halls, and Centre for professional excellence

S.N.Space DescriptionArea Sq. MeterRoom No.Arrangement
1.Ground Floor  Reference Section
  Reading Hall
  Digital Library
  Computer Lab
  Periodical Section
2.First Floor  Language Lab
  Audio Visual Hall
  CPC (Centre for Professional Excellence) Centre
Edusat Link

We have Edusat link installed & activated at our AV Hall for transmission of Educational programs of:

  1. AICTE(All India Council for Technical Education) for self-paced and international courses
  2. NPTEL (National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning) for Engineering
  3. UGC (University Grants Commission) for non technical post-graduation education
  4. CEC(Consortium for Educational Communication) for under-graduate education
  5. NCERT(National Council of Educational Research and Training) for school education
  6. NIOS (National Institute of Open Schooling) for school education
  7. IGNOU (Indira Gandhi National Open University) for out-of-school students
  8. IIMB(Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore) for management studies
  9. NITTTR(National Institute of Technical Teachers Training and Research) for Teacher Training programme

These programs kept started in AV-Hall every day. Students and staff members utilize this facility to enhance their knowledge.

Library Committee

Sr. No.Name of staff Department Designation
1Dr. Indrajit YadavPrincipalChairman
2Ms. Manisha Suhas KulkarniLibrarianSecretary
3Ms. Laxmi Nana kaleCivil Member
4Mr. Yogesh Haridas SwantMechanical Member
5Miss. Swapnali Krushanram LondheComputerMember
6Ms. Sanaha Shabbekadir PathanElectricalMember
7Miss. Archana Pandurang ZanzaneElectronic TCMember
8Mr. Khot V. V.CivilStudent Representative
9Mr. Gade Suyash TukaramMechanicalStudent Representative
10Ms. Shubhangi YamgarComputerStudent Representative
11Mr. Prasad PiseElectricalStudent Representative
12Mr. Akash TambeElectronic TCStudent Representative
Library Staff:
Sr. No.Name of staffDesignation
1Ms. Manisha Suhas KulkarniLibrarian
2Mr.Shailendra Ramchandra PhuleLibrarian